The big philosophical question and the little flower answer

thereallisabain

The other day my super smart cousin Martin, the doctor, posed a question on Facebook…”how do you explain something to someone who has never experienced it?” Lots of discussion ensued, but it got me to thinking about how to describe grassroots advocacy to someone who has never experienced it before.

I’m a gardener. Not a great one, but a passionate one. So it should be no surprise that I came up with a flower to describe grassroots advocacy. (And no, it’s not a tulip). Meet iris reticulata, the teeny weeny little harbingers of spring in my garden.

The first year I planted these bulbs I was so excited…I didn’t know at the time that iris reticulata aren’t the beautiful giant blooms I remembered from my time in Japan. They are miniature versions. Small. And that first spring only a few lonely blooms sprang forth just a few inches above…

View original post 147 more words

Leave a Reply

