My Contribution to Spreading Awareness on Depression

Mind, Body, and Soul

Throughout the semester, I planned an event to act in conjunction with the content I have posted on this blog. Although it took a great deal of planning, I believe in the end it was well worth the efforts and spread awareness on breaking the stigma associated with individuals who have a mental illness. 

For the actual event I set up in an area I knew many students passed through, called the Commons at my university’s campus. I invited my friends and spread the word on the actual event via Facebook, but knew that the traffic in the area would also keep me busy. At this area, I set up a poster with “Famous Faces,” or well-known individuals who have depression, reinforcing the idea of breaking the stigma associated the mental illness. Individuals on the poster included Dolly Parton, Abraham Lincoln, Jim Carrey, among many others. 

Image

 

I partnered with the…

View original post 312 more words

Leave a Reply

