On Belonging

MiscEtcetera v2

An image of the Hierarchy of Needs by Abraham Maslow. Jenga with Maslow’s Hierachy of Needs. Image credit: Lisa Nielsen: The Innovative Educator

Tonight, we attended a milestone birthday party honoring a very special person. She is a prominent member of several communities my family is involved with–school, work, parenting, and our children’s extracurricular activities. During her few words of thanks and acknowledgement, she talked of the village of people who surround her and the realization that she needs this village. I had always looked on her as pillar of strength that I hope to emulate, so her words meant a great deal to me.

On the extremely short ride home and the subsequent hours afterwards, I kept thinking of what she had said. Since she was a person I greatly admire and deem as wise and worth heeding, I wanted to write something about the bits of wisdom I heard from her tonight.

In a different conversation with a…

View original post 476 more words

Leave a Reply

