Investing In People’s Lives: A Beautiful Mess

Keenan Wellar

As I sat listening to this year’s United Way Ottawa Community Investment announcement, I was prepared for a few smiles, camaraderie with familiar faces, and the opportunity to contribute some applause for deserving people. I’ve been in the charitable sector for about 20 years now as an employee, volunteer, board member, spokesperson, and many other roles, so I’ve seen a lot and as a result, I’m not easily moved. But I have to say the story of Guy Clairoux touched me pretty deeply.

guy

Please watch the video that tells his story, but here’s why it really hits home for me.

Guy had a rough time at school and was targeted because he wore glasses. So he took off his glasses and did not wear them in class. The problem with that solution is he could not see very well, and the school labeled him as having a disability, and he…

View original post 608 more words

Leave a Reply

