Vehicular Cycling: Biking like a Car

Bikes Everywhere

Long before I knew that this was a thing, I have been a Vehicular Cyclist. I ride my bike like a car, following all the same rules. I bike everywhere and I believe this is the way it should be. Bike lanes are great, protected or otherwise, but bike lanes or not, I’m going to ride down pretty much any street that I need to in order to get where I want to go. To safely accomplish this, I ride smart: always very alert and aware of everything going on around me, I riding as carefully and predictably as I can to be visible and safe at all times. And I expect all car drivers to do the same. It is their grave responsibility to drive safely, doing everything they possibly can to absolutely avoid hurting anyone else, no matter the situation or mode of travel. No excuses.

It’s…

View original post 205 more words

Leave a Reply

