Increasing OT’s Role in Healthcare for Veterans

Gotta Be OT

VA

One of the goals I have for my career is to do occupational therapy with returning veterans and wounded warriors. I hope to work in a Warrior Transition Unit where I can utilize my occupational therapy training and incorporate my interests in career planning, physical medicine and psychology to help American soldiers who are returning home maintain their mental and physical health and adjust successfully to civilian life.

So I was especially intrigued when I came across a great article on the AOTA blog written by Elizabeth Hart, an occupational therapy student at UNC Chapel Hill. She was able to attend a House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs hearing titled “Service should not lead to suicide: Access to VA’s Mental Health Care.” At this committee meeting, parents of veterans who committed suicide after returning from deployment and a retired veteran who works with the Wounded Warrior Project testified about the difficulty…

View original post 278 more words

Leave a Reply

