Guest blog post: The Americans with Disabilities Act: Three Disappointments, Three Victories by Andrew Pulrang

Disability Visibility Project

The Americans with Disabilities Act: Three Disappointments, Three Victories

Andrew Pulrang, Disability Thinking

http://disabilitythinking.blogspot.com

I was too young, or rather too ignorant of disability issues and culture, to have been involved in advocacy for the Americans with Disabilities Act. However, my disability consciousness began less than a year before the ADA passed and became law. The law itself … its social and legal concepts … helped shape my understanding of disability in society, and even in myself. Some of my first work in the Independent Living / Disability Rights Movements was doing community training on the ADA. You could say the ADA and I grew up together.

That’s why it is hard for me to be objective about the ADA. Both my good feelings and bad are more feelings than studied conclusions. Nevertheless, what follows is the best I can manage in a review of what the ADA has done…

View original post 827 more words

Leave a Reply

