Fear is the Mind Killer

MiscEtcetera v2

Image stating the Bene Gesserit litany from the science fiction book, Dune by Frank Herbert. It states: "I must not fear. Fear is the mindkiller. Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past, I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain."

I have always been a nervous, anxious sort of person. When I was an undergrad, I helped myself and mitigated my inclination by reciting the Bene Gesserit litany from Frank Herbert’s Dune. It helped tremendously with exams and deadlines. The image above states the litany in its entirety. Here it is again:

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

Lately, I have much to be fearful and anxious about. I imagine things will be all right. Eventually. But at this moment, I’ve also come to fear taking a stand, claiming an opinion, having feelings. Speaking…

View original post 488 more words

Leave a Reply

