What is a Mental Health Advocate?

BravelyBipolar

Well, by definition the word advocate is a verb…an action word.  It means “to speak or write in favor of; support or urge by  argument; recommend publicly”.  It goes on further to describe a person who says they are an advocate.  It says “a person who speaks or writes in support or defense of a person, cause, etc”.  Yes, I realize my teacher side just came out, but it had to.  When you call yourself an advocate of a cause, like mental illness and suicide prevention, you can’t just sit back and regurgitate some pre-written email or letter that an organization wants you send to your representatives.  It needs to come from you.  It needs to come from the heart.  It needs to be original.

I’m not condemning anyone who chooses this route.  I did it myself, but I also used it as a learning experience for when I stepped…

View original post 460 more words

Leave a Reply

