Talks and Tears

Autism Blog: Benjamin Breaking Barriers

Trees are glowing russet, red, gold, and orange, skies have been radiant blue, and it is warm as mellow summer… I just presented at the Denver Marriot for the Colorado Association for Gifted and Talented (CAGT) conference; I was invited back from last year and, as always, I loved sharing my story, jokes, and poi swings routine. This year, the conference theme was “The Many Faces of Gifted,” and my talk was titled, Autistic and Gifted: Finding the Silver Lining. That has been a key to my mom’s work with me over the years—always looking for ways to transform the troubles into something positive…finding the silver lining in the stormy clouds.

I like this newish term, as it applies to me: “Twice Exceptional” or “2E” for short. People say that one of my main gifts is to inspire people and make them laugh, and I’ll be taking my message…

View original post 505 more words

Leave a Reply

