My Life Saving Accessory

The Queens Reign

Photo by Dick Stevens Photography

When I was six years old, I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes (T1D). Type 1 diabetes is an auto-immune disease that occurs when the pancreas is unable to produce insulin from its islet cells. This causes the body to be unable to turn ingested food into energy the body needs for every day activities. In order for my body to obtain the insulin required, I must us an insulin pump. The insulin is distributed to my body through a small needle that stays in my skin for four days. This helps to maintain my blood glucose levels, and I also monitor my levels by pricking my finger(s) 10-15 times per day.

pumpI support the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) because this organization has supported me practically my entire life. The day after I was diagnosed, they sent a representative to my hospital room to calm any nerves and answer…

View original post 172 more words

Leave a Reply

