Memorial Day Weekend – Thoughts of Loss and Legacy

Alzheimer's Speaks Blog

Memorial Day Weekend –

flagThoughts of Loss and Legacy

As I sit at the lake overlooking the glistening water, I can hear the loons sing and the leaves whisper in the breath of the breeze.  The cabin, was my parents’ home.  Their and pride and joy.   They loved every blade of grass, each deck board and shingle.  They would reminisce about each tree planted, the hummingbirds as they returned annually to dance in their windows and the eagles that soared overhead.  The cabin, their home triggers strong memories for me and my family. lake 1My Father has been gone since 2001, but it feels like yesterday I was visiting with him.  When I sit in my Father’s recliner or walk on the steps going down to the lake I still feel my Dads presence.  I see him working in the sun alongside my brother and his friends positioning each rail road…

View original post 466 more words

Leave a Reply

