“Thank you for telling me I’m not crazy.”

Advocates Anonymous

I met with her today. Shaking like a leaf, tears streaming down her face before we even sat down, I knew this would be a long consultation.

She’s married to him. He’s a bad person. He does things to her. A lot of things. Things you wouldn’t believe me, even if I told you the details. Because no one wants to believe that human beings can be so cruel. No one wants to believe that domestic violence is real – because if it’s real, that means it can happen to anyone, and if it can happen to anyone, it can happen to you.

As our time together unfolded, she opened up to me, sharing personal details and secrets about the timeline of the abuse. Like when he choked her and threw her down the stairs while she was pregnant. Or when he ran her over with his car. Or how…

View original post 319 more words

Leave a Reply

