Two Years In: Down Syndrome, Recognition, and Pride

Kimchi Latkes

My son with Down syndrome was born just a little before Thanksgiving, two years ago. We became a family of five and entered into the holidays, excited and grateful.

Right around Christmas, my mind began to run in ways that I could not seem to put to rest. The features of his face… I couldn’t put my finger on it.

I don’t think I’ll ever forget that week between Christmas and New Year’s. One of those mornings, he opened his eyes.

Then came the flash of recognition.

The first thing I thought was, “Can people look like they have Down syndrome, without actually having it? Because there’s probably no way my kid has Down syndrome.”  The rest of that story is, of course, history. The next days and weeks were filled with a lot of confusion and soul-searching. I would not characterize that time as an easy period of my life.

I…

View original post 467 more words

Leave a Reply

